Art Blakey’s ‘A Night in Tunisia’

Art Blakey‘s ‘A Night in Tunisia’ is an album recorded on August 7 and 14, 1960 with the Jazz Messengers featuring Lee Morgan, Wayne Shorter, Bobby Timmons and Jymie Merritt in 1960 and released the same year by Blue Note.


Track listing : . 1.A Night in Tunisia (Dizzy Gillespie, Frank Paparelli) – 11:11 . 2.Sincerely Diana (Wayne Shorter) – 06:47 . 3.So Tired (Bobby Timmons) – 06:36 . 4.Yama (Lee Morgan) – 06:20 . 5.Kozo’s Waltz (Lee Morgan) – 06:45 .

Musicians : . Art Blakey – drums . Lee Morgan – trumpet . Wayne Shorter – tenor saxophone . Bobby Timmons – piano . Jymie Merritt – bass .

Production . Produced by Alfred Lion . Rudy Van Gelder – Engineer .

Packaging : . Francis Wolff – Photography . Reid Miles – Cover Design . Barbara J. Gardner – Liner Notes .

Recorded August 7 and 14, 1960 .

Released in 1960 by Blue Note.

(Source Official Site)

Art Blakey

Some impressive solos aside, this is largely formulaic hard bop of exactly the same kind found on every other Jazz Messengers album of the time; here it wears thin because the material is simply not strong enough to allow for true highlights. […]

The lengthy title track on this CD easily overshadows the rest of the program for it is one of the most exciting versions ever recorded of Dizzy Gillespie‘s “A Night in Tunisia.” […]

The title track is very possibly the hottest smoking jazz you will ever hear in your life. You will be flat-out amazed that there’s only one man playing the drums–Blakey sounds like a percussion ensemble all on his own […]


Art Blakey‘s ‘A Night in Tunisia’ M