Return to Forever record ‘Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy,’ their third album (1973)

Return to Forever’s ‘Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy’ is their third studio album recorded in August 1973, at Record Plant Studios, N.Y.and released the same year by by Polydor.

Track listing : 1.Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy (Chick Corea) – 03:31 . 2.After the Cosmic Rain (Stanley Clarke) – 08:25 . 3.Captain Señor Mouse (Chick Corea) – 09:01 . 4.Theme to the Mothership (Chick Corea) – 08:49 . 5.Space Circus, Pts. 1 & 2 (Chick Corea) – 05:42 . 6.The Game Maker (Chick Corea) – 06:46 .

Musicians : Chick Corea – electric piano, acoustic piano, organ, harpsichord, gongs . Stanley Clarke – electric bass, bell tree . Lenny White – drums, percussion . Bill Connors – electric guitar, acoustic guitar .

Production Produced by Chick Corea . Paul Ramey- engineer . Richard Seidel- engineer . Shelly Yakus- engineer . Ed Sprigg – assistant Engineer . Tom Rabstenek – mastering .

Packaging : Don Brautigam – art direction . Davis Fried Krieger – art direction .

Recorded in August, 1973, at Record Plant Studios, N.Y. .

Released in 1973 by Polydor.

Return to Forever

It is technically mind-blowing and sure to turn on those who listen to music purely for this quality, however where it works best is on the tracks where notes are allowed room to breath and shine brightly as a superb example of songwriting. […]

The hideous cover and horrifically new agey title left me expecting baaaadddddd things from this one (you know how Corea loves his Scientology-themed lyrics? Yeah, I was worried here), but this is actually an improvement over the more popular Light as a Feather. […]

The second incarnation of Chick Corea‘s influential fusion group released only a single record, the magnificent Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy. […]


Return to Forever’s ‘Hymn of the Seventh Galaxy’