Thelonious Monk ‘s ‘Misterioso’

Thelonious Monk ‘s ‘Misterioso’ is a live album recorded on August 7, 1958 at Five Spot Café, New York City with Roy Haynes, Ahmed Abdul-Malik and Johnny Griffin.


Track listing : 1.Nutty (Thelonious Monk) – 05:22 . 2.Blues Five Spot (Thelonious Monk) – 08:11 . 3.Let’s Cool One (Thelonious Monk) – 09:16 . 4.In Walked Bud (Thelonious Monk) – 011:20 . 5.Just a Gigolo (Irving Caesar, Leonello Casucci) – 02:07 . 6.Misterioso (Thelonious Monk) – 10:54 .

Musicians : Thelonious Monk – piano . Ahmed Abdul-Malik – bass . Johnny Griffin – tenor saxophone . Roy Haynes – drums .

Production Produced by Orrin Keepnews . Ray Fowler – engineer .

Packaging : Paul Bacon – cover design . Giorgio de Chirico – cover painting . Orrin Keepnews – liner notes .

Recorded August 7, 1958 at Five Spot Café, New York City .

Released in 1959 by Riverside.

 Thelonious Monk

Robert Christgau
Not So Misterioso July 1960, as I recall. A British salesman at Sam Goody’s advises Brilliant Corners over Misterioso. Objectively, he’s right. I all but memorize Brilliant Corners. But in the end I prefer Misterioso. […]

The actual, physical way that Monk played had a lot to do with the timbre of his solos and comping; as opposed to curving his fingers and playing with the tips touching the keys, he played with his fingers outstretched and taut, striking the keys like he was an abusive parent disciplining a child, often using the strength of his entire arm to rain blows upon the instrument. […]

His improvisational skills always contained surprises and his ability to meld with other musicians of note gave many of his studio recordings new twists and textures. […]


Thelonious Monk ‘s ‘Misterioso’


Ricerca Tutte le categorie Thelonious Monk
Buscar Todos los departamentos Thelonious Monk