Albert Ayler records ‘In Greenwich Village,’ an album for Impulse! (1967)

Albert Ayler‘s ‘In Greenwich Village’ is a live album recorded on December 18, 1966 and February 26, 1967 and released in 1967 by Impulse!.

Track Listing : 1.For John Coltrane (Albert Ayler) – 13:38 . 2.Change Has Come (Albert Ayler) – 06:24 . 3.Truth Is Marching In (Albert Ayler) – 12:43 . 4.Our Prayer (Albert Ayler) – 04:43

Chuck Stewart

Musicians : Albert Ayler – Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone . Donald Ayler – Trumpet . Bill Folwell – Bass . Joel Friedman – Cello . Henry Grimes – Bass . Beaver Harris – Drums . Michel Sampson – Violin . Alan Silva – Bass

Production : Produced By Bob Thiele George Klabin – Engineer

Package : Barbara Flynn – Design . Robert Flynn – Design . Nat Hentoff – Liner Notes . Joe Lebow – Design . Chuck Stewart asterisques RVM – Photography

Recorded On December 18, 1966 And February 26, 1967.

Released In 1967 By Impulse!.

(Source Albert Ayler – In Greenwich Village | Official Site)


The enhanced sound reveals the improvisations linking Ayler’s patchworks of hymns, children’s songs, and folk melodies to be more crafted than is generally accepted, which, in turn, makes the ecstatic message of Ayler’s music all the more clear. […]

Head Heritage
The music contained on this disc is nothing short of spectacular and surely must rank with the MC5’s Kick Out The Jams as one of the all time high energy live sets. […]

finulanu @ RateYourMusic
Intense is today’s word. Sure, Albert Ayler‘s technique never matched John Coltrane‘s (incidentally, the tribute paid to him here is brilliant) or Sonny Rollins‘, but what he lacks in technical ability, he more than makes up for in grit, passion, and creativity – for instance, the decision to incorporate strings isn’t something you’d hear every day, even in free jazz. […]


Albert Ayler‘s ‘In Greenwich Village’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]M


Comments are closed.