Alicia Keys’ ‘The Element of Freedom’ featuring ‘Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart’ and ‘Un-Thinkable (I’m Ready)’ (2009)

Alicia Keys’ ‘The Element of Freedom’ is her fourth studio album released on December 11, 2009 by J Records.

Track Listing : 1.The Element Of Freedom (Intro) – 00:12 . 2.Love Is Blind (Alicia Keys, Jeff Bhasker) – 03:49 . 3.Doesn’T Mean Anything (Alicia Keys, Kerry Brothers, Jr.) – 04:32 . 4.Try Sleeping With A Broken Heart (Jeff Bhasker, Alicia Keys, Patrick Plain Pat Reynolds) – 04:09 . 5.Wait Til You See My Smile (Alicia Keys, Jeff Bhasker, Kasseem Dean) – 04:01 . 6.That’S How strong My Love Is (Alicia Keys) – 04:04 . 7.Un-Thinkable (I’M Ready) (Alicia Keys, Aubrey Graham, Kerry Brothers, Jr., Noah Shebib) – 04:09 . 8.Love Is My Disease (Alicia Keys, Kerry Brothers, Jr., Toby Gad, Meleni Smith) – 04:01 . 9.Like The Sea (Alicia Keys, Jeff Bhasker) – 04:13 . 10.Put It In A Love Song (Alicia Keys, Kasseem Dean) – 03:15 . 11.This Bed (Alicia Keys, Kerry Brothers, Jr., Steve Mostyn) – 03:45 . 12.Distance And Time (Alicia Keys, Kerry Brothers, Jr., Mostyn) – 04:27 . 13.How It Feels To Fly (Alicia Keys, Kerry Brothers, Jr.) – 04:42 . 14.Empire State Of Mind (Part Ii) Broken Down (Alicia Keys, Al Shuckburgh, Shawn Carter, Jane’T Jnay Sewell-Ulepic, Angela Hunte, Bert Keyes, Sylvia Robinson) – 03:39

Yu Tsai

Melina Matsoukas

Musicians : Beyoncé – Vocals On (10) . Drake – Vocals On (7) . Patrick “Plain Pat” Reynolds – Drum Programming . Noah Shebib – Drum Programming, Keyboards . Kerry Brothers – Drum Programming . Jeff Bhasker – Drum Programming, Keyboards, Synthesizer . Toby Gad – Guitar, Keyboards . Steve Mostyn – Guitar (Bass), Moog Bass, Piano . Swizz Beatz – Drum Programming . Steve Wolf – Drums . Paul Pesco – Guitar (Acoustic), Guitar (Electric) . Carlos Alomar – Guitar (Electric) . Ron Haney – Guitar (Electric) . Jeff Gitelman – Guitar (Electric) . John Jubu Smith – Guitar (Electric) . Al Shux – Keyboards, Programming . Davide Rossi – Cello, Viola, Violin . Roger Hambrick – Choir Director . Conrad Robinson – Choir Director . Billy Kraven – Vocals (Background)

Jake Nava

Production : Produced By Swizz Beatz, Jeff Bhasker, Kerry “Krucial” Brothers, Peter Edge, Toby Gad, Alicia Keys, Noah “40” Shebib . Christian Baker – Assistant Engineer . Val Brathwaite – Assistant Engineer . George Fullan – Assistant Engineer . Chris Soper – Assistant Engineer . Valente Torrez – Assistant Engineer . Miki Tsutsumi – Engineer . Stuart White – Engineer, Mixing Assistant . Dave Kutch – Mastering . Manny Marroquin – Mixing . Tony Maserati – Mixing . Erik Madrid – Mixing Assistant . Ann Mincieli – Engineer . Noah Shebib – Engineer . Toby Gad – Engineer . Christian Plata – Mixing Assistant

Package : Yu Tsai asterisques RVM – Photography . Wouri Vice – Stylist . Ashunta Sheriff – Make-Up . Tippi Shorter – Hair Stylist . Erwin Gorostiza – Creative Director

Recorded May To September 2009 At The Oven Studios In Long Island, New York.

Released On December 11, 2009 By J Records.

Video Director(s) : P. R. Brown for “Doesn’t Mean Anything” . Syndrome Studio for “Try Sleeping with a Broken Heart” . Melina Matsoukas asterisques RVM for “Put It in a Love Song” . Jake Nava asterisques RVM for “Un-Thinkable (I’m Ready)” .

(Source Official site)

Alicia Keys


Slant Magazine.
As smart and savvy a songwriter as Keys should be able to do better than this, particularly now that she has a decade of experience under her belt. Now that she’s entering the middle phase of her career, it’s high time that Keys bested her first album. […]

When she does stretch herself, the results are exciting. When she plays it safe musically, she at least raises the bar for herself as a songwriter and vocalist. Even if the next album isn’t groundbreaking, Keys gives us good reason to think it will be another move toward maturity-and will include at least a few killer singles. […]

Los Angeles Times
Sonically she and the album’s main co-producers paint with broad strokes, in some cases freely slathering on colors and textures in contrast to the comparatively simpler approach on earlier tracks such as her 2007 hit “No One.” – […]


Alicia Keys’ ‘The Element of Freedom’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]M


Comments are closed.