Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins and Ronnie DeVoe known as ‘Bell Biv DeVoe release their debut album ‘Poison’ (1990)

Bell Biv DeVoe‘s ‘Poison’ is their debut studio album released March 20, 1990 by MCA Records.


Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins and Ronnie DeVoe known as ‘Bell Biv DeVoe release their debut album  ‘Poison’ (1990)

Track Listing : 1.Dope! (Elliot Straite, Dr. Freeze) – 03:44 . 2.B.B.D. (I Thought It Was Me)? (Darrol Durant, Roney Hooks, Paul Stewart, Eric Sadler, Hank Shocklee, Keith Shocklee) – 04:35 . 3.Let Me Know Something?! (Darrol Durant, Roney Hooks, Eric Sadler, Hank Shocklee, Keith Shocklee) – 04:40 . 4.Do Me! (Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Ronnie Devoe, Carl E. Bourelly) – 04:33 . 5.Ronnie, Bobby, Ricky, Mike, Ralph And Johnny (Word To The Mutha)! (Ricky Bell, Michael Bivins, Ronnie Devoe) – 04:30 . 6.Poison (Elliot Straite, Dr. Freeze) – 04:22 . 7.Ain’T Nut’In’ Changed (Darrol Durant, Eric Sadler, Hank Shocklee, Keith Shocklee) – 03:30 . 8.When Will I See You Smile Again? (Timmy Gatling, Paul Stewart, Alton Stewart) – 05:08 . 9.I Do Need You (Timmy Gatling, Alton Stewart) – 04:36 . 10.Poison [Extended Club Version] (Elliot Straite, D’Lavance) – 07:50

Lionel C. Martin

Musicians : Bell Biv Devoe – Multi Instruments, Vocals, Vocals . Ricky Bell – Vocals . Michael Bivins – Vocals . Ronnie Devoe – Vocals . Richard Wolf – Multi Instruments . Chris Floberg – Programming . Sherman Foote – Programming . Carl Bourelly – Keyboards . Howard Hirsch – Drum Programming, Keyboards . Timmy Gatling – Drum Programming, Keyboards . Jean-Paul Bourelly – Guitar . Dr. Freeze – Multi Instruments . Alton “Wokie” Stewart – Vocals (Background)

Production : Produced By Bell Biv Devoe, Carl Bourelly, D’Lavance, Dr. Freeze, Timmy Gatling, Hiriam Hicks, Eric “Vietnam” Sadler, Hank Shocklee, Keith Shocklee, Alton “Wokie” Stewart . Michael Allaire – Assistant Engineer . Ken Felton – Assistant Engineer Barbara Milne – Engineer . Kurt Upper – Engineer . Jay Henry – Engineer, Mixing . Rod Hui – Engineer, Mixing . Nick Sansano – Engineer, Mixing . Jamey Staub – Engineer, Mixing . Dan Wood – Engineer, Mixing . Kirk Yano – Engineer, Mixing . Steve Hall – Mastering . Peter Arata – Remixing

Arrangements : Roney Hooks, Carl Bourelly, Hank Shocklee

Package : Bell Biv Devoe – Art Direction . Angelica Chaplin – Make-Up, Photography

Recorded 1989–1990.

Released On March 20, 1990 By Mca.

Video Director(s) : Lionel C. Martin asterisques RVM for “Poison” “When Will I See You Smile Again?” and “She’s Dope”

(Source Bell Biv DeVoe – Poison | Official site)


From the risqué lyrical content to the uncompromisingly hip-hop production, these dudes were as street as pop music got back in the day. Not bad for a project that essentially started as an accident. […]

Whether it’s the oh-so 80’s style production, the tacky “gangster” outfits, or their constant self-name dropping in some of the tracks, this was definitely an early 90’s group that acted like an early 90’s group. But maybe that’s not a bad thing. […]

While other “new jacks” were content to simply emulate Guy, the distinctive BBD deserves applause for daring to stake out its own territory. […]


Bell Biv DeVoe‘s ‘Poison’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]M


Comments are closed.