Atco Records release Ben E. King’s third studio album : ‘Don’t Play That Song!’ featuring ‘Stand by Me’

Ben E. King’s ‘Don’t Play That Song!’ feat. ‘Stand by Me’ is his third studio album released on August 20, 1962 by Atco Records.

Track Listing : 1.Don’T Play That Song (You Lied) (Ahmet Ertegün, Betty Nelson) – 02:46 . 2.Ecstasy (Ben E. King) – 02:32 . 3.On The Horizon (Ben E. King) – 02:18 . 4.Show Me The Way (Ben E. King) – 02:18 . 5.Here Comes The Night (Ben E. King) – 02:24 . 6.First Taste Of Love (Ben E. King) – 02:20 . 7.Stand By Me (Ben E. King, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller – 02:57 . 8.Yes (Ben E. King) – 03:03 . 9.Young Boy Blues (Ben E. King) – 02:17 . 10.The Hermit Of Misty Mountain (Ben E. King) – 02:20 . 11.I Promise Love (Ben E. King) – 02:05 . 12.Brace Yourself (Ben E. King) – 02:08

Musicians : Ben E. King – Vocals

Production : Produced By Ahmet Ertegün, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller . Stan Applebaum, Jimmie Haskell, Claus Ogerman

Arrangements : Stan Applebaum, Jimmie Haskell, Claus Ogerman

Recorded 1960 – 1961.

Released On August 20, 1962 By Atco Records.


nathanten @ RateYourMusic
The music is warm, satisfying and easy to embrace but the aforementioned Stand By Me (which most of it sounds basically like) is the only true compositional triumph. […]

This album, like its predecessors, dates from a period in which producers and engineers were figuring out what one could do with soul and R&B in terms of engineeringand the sound separation and textures are nothing if not vibrant and alluring in their own right, separate from the music. […]

Ben E. King’s ‘Don’t Play That Song!’ feat. ‘Stand by Me’


Comments are closed.