Bill Evans records his last studio album : ‘We Will Meet Again’ (1979)

Bill Evans’ ‘We Will Meet Again’ is his last studio album recorded on August 6–9, 1979 and released the same year by Warner Bros.

Track listing : . 1.Comrade Conrad (Bill Evans) – 10:05 . 2.Laurie (Bill Evans) – 08:20 . 3.Bill’s Hit Tune (Bill Evans) – 10:49 . 4.For All We Know (John Frederick Coots, Sam M. Lewis) – 3:37 . 5.Five (Bill Evans) – 09:10 . 6.Only Child (Bill Evans) – 10:47 . 7.Peri’s Scope (Bill Evans) – 06:11 . 8.We Will Meet Again (Bill Evans) – 02:34 .

Musicians : Bill Evans – piano . Tom Harrell – trumpet . Marc Johnson – bass . Joe La Barbera – drums . Larry Schneider – tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone .

Production Produced by Helen Keane . Frank Laico – Engineer, Mixing . Stew Romaine – Mastering .

Packaging : Chris Callis – Photography . Aram Gesar – Photography .

Recorded August 6–9, 1979 in New York City .

Released in 1979 by Warner Bros.

Bill Evans


The thoughtful session is full of lyrical melodies and strong solos; even Evans’s electric keyboard work on a few tunes is distinctive. […]

The Guardian
But Evans’ music for the Warner and Elektra labels in his last years, though occasionally drawn toward a rather lounge-jazzy over-elegance, confirms how sensationally inventive he could still be. […]

This is the album that pulled me into Bill Evans‘ world. I dug deeper into his music and this is what brought together all of his work – all of it! Listen to ‘Comrad Conrad’ on a rainy Sunday afternoon. I keep hearing ‘Bill’s Hit Tune’ in my head each time I look at the NY City skyline. It is a hour (plus) of wonderful music. Buy it! […]


Bill Evans’ ‘We Will Meet Again’ M


Comments are closed.