Charles Mingus begins the recording of ‘Changes One,’ an album for Atlantic Records (1974)

Charles Mingus ‘Changes One’ is an album recorded on December 27, 28 & 30, 1974 with Jack Walrath, George Adams, Don Pullen and Dannie Richmond.

Track Listing : 1.Remember Rockefeller At Attica (Charles Mingus) – 05:56 . 2.Sue’S Changes (Charles Mingus) – 17:04 . 3.Devil Blues (George Adams, Clarence Gatemouth Brown, Charles Mingus) – 09:24 . 4.Duke Ellington‘S Sound Of Love (Charles Mingus) – 12:04

Paula Scher

Musicians : Jack Walrath – Trumpet . George Adams – Tenor Saxophone . Don Pullen – Piano . Dannie Richmond – Drums

Production : Produced By Ilhan Mimaroglu . Gene Paul – Engineer

Package : David Gahr – Photography . Nat Hentoff – Liner Notes . Paula Scher asterisques RVM – Cover Design

Recorded On December 27, 28 & 30, 1974 At Atlantic Recording Studios, New York City.

Released On October 1, 1975 By Atlantic.

(Source Charles Mingus – Changes One | The Official Site | Charles Mingus)


Jazzbo Notes
Changes One, like it’s companion piece, Changes Two, would be the last time Mingus operated at full strength as a composer and arranger. […]

messageboards @ RateYourMusic
“Sue’s Changes” is tremendous, especially Don Pullen‘s breakaway portion. “Devil Blues” is hilarious, funny vocal. Kind of medium the rest of the way. […]

The band has the adventurous spirit and chance-taking approach of Charles Mingus‘ best groups, making this an easily recommended example of the great bandleader’s music. […]


Charles Mingus ‘Changes One’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]



Charles Mingus‘ width=’190’ height=’161’/>
Eric Dolphy – Cornell 1964 ‘ width=’190’ height=’161’/>
Charles Mingus ‘ width=’190’ height=’161’/>
The Roots-RVJ-SMALL.jpg’ Charles Mingus – Blues & The Roots ‘ width=’190’ height=’161’/>

Comments are closed.