Dave Brubeck releases his first solo piano album : ‘Brubeck Plays Brubeck’ (1956)

Dave Brubeck‘s ‘Brubeck Plays Brubeck’ is his first solo piano album released on July 16, 1956 by Columbia.

Track Listing : 1.Swing Bells (Dave Brubeck) – 03:39 . 2.Walkin’ Line (Dave Brubeck) – 02:47 . 3.In Your Own Sweet Way (Dave Brubeck) – 05:01 . 4.Two-Part Contention (Dave Brubeck) – 05:39 . 5.Weep No More (Dave Brubeck) – 03:59 . 6.The Duke (Dave Brubeck) – 02:54 . 7.When I Was Young (Dave Brubeck) – 03:19 . 8.One Moment Worth Years (Dave Brubeck) – 04:55 . 9.The Waltz (Dave Brubeck) – 03:49

Jay Maisel

Musicians : Dave Brubeck – Piano

Production : Produced By George Avakian

Package : Jay Maisel asterisques RVM – Photography

Recorded On April 18 & 19, 1956.

Released On July 16, 1956 By Columbia.

(Source Dave Brubeck‘s ‘Brubeck Plays Brubeck’ | Official site)


Brubeck Institute
The result is one of the great solo piano records: every tune is original, but every tune feels like a classic. (Of course, “In Your Own Sweet Way” and “The Duke” did go on to become classics, but their original recordings appear here.) […]

Aside from the tunes themselves, what lingers in the listener’s mind is a distinct approach to harmony, the pianist’s gently rocking swingand a lightness of touch that is at odds with the frequent depiction of Brubeck as a keyboard pounder. […]

timregler @ RateYourMusic
And while it’s pleasant enough, it lacks the adventurous style of some many of his contemporaries from that era. He lacks the sensitivity of Bill Evans, the touch of Red Garlandand the daring of Thelonius Monk […]


Dave Brubeck‘s ‘Brubeck Plays Brubeck’


Your Favourite Dave Brubeck on RVM *

(*) According to our own statistics, upadted on February 3, 2022

Comments are closed.