Dave Brubeck & Paul Desmond begin the recording of ‘1975: The Duets’ for A&M (1975)

Dave Brubeck & Paul Desmond‘s ‘1975: The Duets’ is a studio album (and the only one as a duo) recorded from June 10 till September 16, 1975 and released the same year by A&M.


Dave Brubeck & Paul Desmond begin the recording of ‘1975: The Duets’ for A&M (1975)

1 . Balcony Rock (w/ Paul Desmond)

2 . Koto Song

Track Listing : 1.Alice In Wonderland (Sammy Fain, Bob Hilliard) – 04:04 . 2.These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You) (Harry Link, Holt Marvell, Jack Strachey) – 05:09 . 3.La Paloma Azul (Blue Dove) (Traditional) – 04:34 . 4.Stardust (Hoagy Carmichael, Mitchell Parish) – 04:45 . 5.Koto Song (Dave Brubeck) – 05:56 . 6.Balcony Rock (Dave Brubeck, Paul Desmond) – 02:16 . 7.Summer Song (Dave Brubeck) – 03:18 . 8.You Go To My Head (J. Fred Coots, Haven Gillespie) – 07:32

Musicians : Dave Brubeck – Piano, Arranger . Paul Desmond – Alto Saxophone

Production : Produced By John Snyder Dave Achelis – Assistant Engineer . Elvin Campbell – Engineer . Kevin Reeves – Mastering

Package : Paul Desmond – Liner Notes . Harry Mittman – Photography . Hollis King – Art Direction . Roland Young – Art Direction

Recorded From June 10 Till September 16, 1975.

Released In 1975 By A&M.

(Source Dave Brubeck & Paul Desmond – 1975: The Duets | Dave Brubeck Official site )

Paul Desmond‘s ‘1975: The Duets’ | RVM [Radio.Video.Music]’ />


Brubeck’s lyricism throughout these sessions will surprise critics who label him as bombastic, while Desmond, known for his pure dry-toned alto sax, throws a few curves to his longtime fans. […]

mark my words
10 Essential Dave Brubeck AlbumsThe music is made more poignant by the fact that Desmond died of lung cancer less than two years after this album was recorded. Highlights include a moving version of “Koto Song.” […]

All About Jazz
The mix of the pianist’s creative time signatures and inclination to heavy chords with the saxophonist’s glowing tone and melodic ease yielded what became a favorite recording of both. […]


Dave Brubeck & Paul Desmond‘s ‘1975: The Duets’ | RVM [Radio.Video.Music]



Dave Brubeck  - Take Final
Dave Brubeck Quartet – Time Out’ width=’190′ height=’161’/>
The <a href=Dave Brubeck Quartet – At Carnegie Hall’ width=’190′ height=’161’/>
Dave Brubeck Quartet - Countdown—Time in Outer Space
Dave Brubeck Quartet - Jazz at the College of the Pacific
Dave Brubeck Quartet – Brubeck Time’ width=’190′ height=’161’/>
Dave Brubeck - Jazz Impressions of Japan
Dave Brubeck - Brubeck Plays Brubeck
The <a href=Dave Brubeck Quartet – Bernstein Plays Brubeck Plays Bernstein’ width=’190′ height=’161’/>

Comments are closed.