Elton John releases ‘Empty Sky,’ his debut album (1969)

Elton John’s ‘Empty Sky’ is his debut studio album produced by Steve Brown and released on June 6, 1969 by DJM.

Track Listing : 1.Empty Sky (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) – 08:28 . 2.Val-Hala (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) – 04:12 . 3.Western Ford Gateway (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) – 03:16 . 4.Hymn 2000 (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) – 04:29 . 5.Lady What’S Tomorrow (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) – 03:10 . 6.Sails (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) – 03:45 . 7.The Scaffold (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) – 03:18 . 8.Skyline Pigeon (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) – 03:37 . 9.Gulliver/Hay Chewed/Reprise (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) – 06:59

Musicians : Elton John – Vocals, Piano, Organ, Electric Piano, Harpsichord . Caleb Quaye – Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Conga Drums . Tony Murray – Bass . Roger Pope – Drums, Percussion . Don Fay – Saxophone, Flute . Graham Vickery – Harmonica . Nigel Olsson – Drums On (5)

Production : Produced By Steve Brown .

Package : Gus Dudgeon – Liner Notes . John Tobler – Liner Notes


Head Heritage
Much as I like this album, it’s easy to see why it is generally considered something of a false start. Elton and Bernie were young and naive and still finding their feet. […]

The next album would find the duo’s true strengths. What you’re left with on this album is naivety and pretentiousness at it’s finest. […]

Rolling Stone
20 Terrible Debut Albums by Great ArtistsThe eight-minute title track is a strong rocker and the beautiful ballad “Skyline Pigeon” remained a part of John’s live repertoire for decades, but the majority of the album is simply too twee and slight. […]


Elton John’s ‘Empty Sky’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]M


Comments are closed.