Frank Sinatra records his seventh album : ‘Songs for Young Lovers’ with Nelson Riddle (1953)

Frank Sinatra’s ‘Songs for Young Lovers’ is his seventh studio album recorded on November 5 and 6, 1953 in Hollywood with Nelson Riddle as a conductor and released in 1954 By Capitol Records.

Track Listing : 1.My Funny Valentine (Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart) – 02:31 . 2.The Girl Next Door (Ralph Blane, Hugh Martin) – 02:38 . 3.A Foggy Day (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 02:39 . 4.Like Someone In Love (Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke) – 03:10 . 5.I Get A Kick Out Of You (Cole Porter) – 02:55 . 6.Little Girl Blue (Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart) – 02:54 . 7.They Can’T Take That Away From Me (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 01:58 . 8.Violets For Your Furs (Tom Adair, Matt Dennis) – 03:05

Musicians : Frank Sinatra – Vocals . Nelson Riddle – Conductor

Production : Produced By Voyle Gilmore . George Siravo – Arranger For All Songs Except (4)

Recorded On November 5 And 6, 1953 At Hollywood.

Released 1954 By Capitol Records.

I’ve never heard another version of the now evergreen ‘My Funny Valentine’ as sensitively performed and arranged as this. Frank sings with a tenderness and compassion in his voice, a genuine longing and perfect appreciation of the material. […]

Drifterdk @ RateYourMusic
It is so intimate with a very sensual undertow. Being his first album for Capitol (originally released as a 10″ album), you can tell that he really is making an effort and the result is one of the most tender works in his huge canon. […]

Double Crown
This is Sinatra in his prime, accompanied by the arrangements of Nelson Riddle. Whether you’ve heard of them or not, all sixteen cuts on this album are classics. […]


Frank Sinatra’s ‘Songs for Young Lovers’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]


Comments are closed.