FRE:SH CONTEMPORARY 01 (597 minutes – 10 albums)

Almost ten hours of newly released contemporary jazz albums. One full day of music. : Florian Hoefner Group Ilhan Ersahin Seamus Blake Summra Muriel Grossmann Bill Stewart Jessika Smith Michael Rosen

Florian Hoefner Group – Luminosity

Florian Hoefner (p) with Seamus Blake (ts, ss), Sam Anning (b) & Peter Kronreif (d). On Origin Records

Ilhan Ersahin – Istanbul Sessions : Istanbul Underground

Ilhan Ersahin’s Istanbul Sessions with Ilhan Ersahin (saxophone), Alp Ersonmez (bass), Turgut Alp Bekoglu (drums) and Izzet Kizil (percussion).

Seamus Blake – Superconductor

On the 5Passion label, Seamus Blake on sax, Gonzalo Rubalcabo on piano, Nate Smith on drums, and Matt Clohesy on bass

Journeys.jpg’ alt=” class=’image_product’/>

Summra – 5 Journeys

A travel through five cities. Manuel Gutierrez – piano, Xacobe Martinez Antelo – bass, and drummer LAR Legido. Recorded live at Santiago de Compostela, Spain.

Muriel Grossmann – Natural Time

This album is a suite. The classical guitar/saxophone Jazz Quartet is accompanied by a drone of multiple acoustic instruments. Muriel Grossmann – alto, soprano saxophone . Radomir Milojkovic – guitar . Gina Schwarz – bass . Uros Stamenkovic – drums. Recorded at Dreamlandrecords Studios, Sta. Eularia and Escuela Municipal de Música de Sta.Eularia, Ibiza, Spain.

Bill Stewart – Space Squid

On “Space Squid”, drummer Bill Stewart reaches for the sky and plumbs the depths with a group of like-minded musical explorers, saxophonist Seamus Blake, pianist Bill Carrothers and bassist Ben Street.

Jessika Smith – Tricks of Light

Saxophonist and composer Jessika Smith has compiled a band of top-notch instrumentalists from all over the Pacific Northwest to record this album.

Michael Rosen – Sweet 17

December 2015 sees the release of Michael Rosen’s new album “Sweet 17” recorded at Sear Sound in New York City with Lage Lund, Ralph Alessi, Domenico Sanna, Matt Penman and Bill Stewart.

Bureau Of Atomic Tourism – Hapax Legomena

Teun Verbruggen – Drums . Nate Wooley – Trumpet . Jozef Dumoulin – Fender Rhodes . Andrew d’Angelo – Sax and Bassclarinet . Hilmar Jensson – Guitar . Tim Dahl – Bass. Recorded Live at AMR Genève in 2014

Megaphone Man – This Is Not A Drill

Bryan Lopes – saxophone . Neal Fountain – bass . Jeff Reilly – drums

Credit : KOREA Now – Photo Annie Guilloret

Comments are closed.