Gary Burton records ‘New Vibe Man in Town,’ his debut album for RCA (1961)

Gary Burton‘s ‘New Vibe Man in Town’ is his debut album recorded on July 6 & 7, 1961 and released the same year by RCA.

Track Listing : 1.Joy Spring (Clifford Brown) – 03:39 . 2.Over The Rainbow (Harold Arlen, Yip Harburg) – 04:21 . 3.Like Someone In Love (Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen) – 03:05 . 4.Minor Blues (Arif Mardin) – 05:30 . 5.Our Waltz (Gary Burton) – 04:30 . 6.So Many Things (Marian Mcpartland) – 04:14 . 7.Sir John (Blue Mitchell) – 04:10 . 8.You Stepped Out Of A Dream (Nacio Herb Brown, Gus Kahn) – 04:28

Musicians : Gary Burton – Vibraphone . Gene Cherico – Bass . Joe Morello – Drums

Production : Produced By George Avakian . Marian Conaty – Mastering . Ray Hall – Engineer

Recorded On July 6 & 7, 1961.

Released In 1961 By Rca.

(Source Gary Burton‘s ‘New Vibe Man in Town’ | Official Website)


Highlights of the CD (a straight reissue of the original Lp) include “Joy Spring,” “You Stepped Out Of A Dream” and Burton’s original “Our Waltz.” This boppish set is easily recommended. […]

Tony Augarde
Despite what I said above about Morello’s drumming sometimes not fitting in with Burton, Joe swaps some very cogent fours and eights with the vibes. And Gene Cherico provides a sturdy base for the music. […]

Gary Burton‘s ‘New Vibe Man in Town’


Your Favourite Gary Burton on RVM *

(*) According to our own statistics, upadted on January 22, 2022

Comments are closed.