John Coltrane records in studio ‘Crescent’ with Jimmy Garrison, Elvin Jones & Mccoy Tyner (1964)

John Coltrane’s ‘Crescent’ is a studio album recorded on tenor saxophone exclusively on April 27 and June 1, 1964 and released the same year by Impulse!.

Track Listing : 1.Crescent (John Coltrane) – 08:41 . 2.Wise One (John Coltrane) – 09:00 . 3.Bessie’S Blues (John Coltrane) – 03:22 . 4.Lonnie’S Lament (John Coltrane) – 11:45 . 5.The Drum Thing (John Coltrane) – 07:22

Chuck Stewart

Musicians : John Coltrane – Tenor Saxophone . Jimmy Garrison – Double Bass . Elvin Jones – Drums . Mccoy Tyner – Piano

Production : Produced By Bob Thiele . Rudy Van Gelder – Engineer, Mixing

Package : Nat Hentoff – Liner Notes . Joe Alper – Photography . Chuck Stewart asterisques RVM – Photography

Recorded On April 27 And June 1, 1964 At At Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, United States.

Released In 1964 By Impulse!.

Crescent lacks the explosive energy of so much of his other celebrated work, but that’s simply a way to distinguish it from those records – not a stick to beat it with. It has a mood all of its own – calming and uneasy all at once […]

VAC @ RateYourMusic
Good stuff! I love that it’s shorter than a lot of the more epic jazz pieces I’ve tried out, 5 tracks at around 40 minutes instead of a sprawling double album that takes a forth-night to finish in any legitimate way. […]

John Coltrane‘s Crescent from the spring of 1964 is an epic album, showing his meditative side that would serve as a perfect prelude to his immortal work A Love Supreme […]


John Coltrane’s ‘Crescent’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]


Comments are closed.