John Coltrane records the album : ‘John Coltrane with the Red Garland Trio’ for Prestige (1957)

‘John Coltrane with the Red Garland Trio’ is Coltrane’s third album recorded on August 23, 1957 and released In 1958 by Prestige Records.

Track Listing : 1.Traneing In (John Coltrane) – 12:34 . 2.Slow Dance (Alonzo Levister) – 05:28 . 3.Bass Blues (John Coltrane) – 07:48 . 4.You Leave Me Breathless (Ralph Freed, Friedrich Hollaender) – 07:25 . 5.Soft Lights And Sweet Music (Irving Berlin) – 04:41

Musicians : John Coltrane – Tenor Saxophone . Red Garland – Piano . Paul Chambers – Bass . Art Taylor – Drums

Production : Produced By Bob Weinstock . Rudy Van Gelder – Engineer

Package : Ralph Berton – Liner Notes . Ira Gitler – Liner Notes . Esmond Edwards – Cover Design, Photography

Recorded On August 23, 1957 At Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey.

Released In 1958 By Prestige Records.

A mixed verdict on this album — lots of good music from the early stages of a legendary jazz musicianand important as a snapshot of where he was musically at that time, but possibly not to everyone’s tastes. […]

The Music Box
Granted, there are better starting points for exploring Coltrane’s vast legacy, but for those who already have absorbed his masterpieces, Traneing In provides an insightful glimpse into the embryonic stages of the saxophonist’s never-ending spiritual quest for transcendence and perfection. starstarstar. […]

All About Jazz
Historically, Trane seems to be most often cast in the mold of an ingenious soloist, bombarding the listener with “Giant Steps -esque shimmering. But Traneing In manages to do a splendid job of evincing his oft-underappreciated aptitude for transitioning between ballad, bopand blues. […]


‘John Coltrane with the Red Garland Trio’ M


Comments are closed.