Kurt Rosenwinkel records ‘Reflections,’ his eighth album as a band leader (2009)

Kurt Rosenwinkel‘s ‘Reflections’ is his eighth studio album as a band leader, recorded on June 18-20, 2009 and released in November, 2009 by Wommusic..


Kurt Rosenwinkel records ‘Reflections,’  his eighth album as a band leader (2009)

1 . Improvisation on Reflections (2004)

2 . Recording “Reflections”

3 . Reflections (2009)

4 . Live @ AlexanderPlatz, 25 February 2015

5 . East Coast Love Affair

6 . Ask me now (w/ Mike Boone & Anwar M. Marshall)

7 . More Than You Know (w/ Peter Beets Trio)

8 . You ‘ve changed (making of Reflections)

Track Listing : 1.Reflections (Thelonious Monk) – 09:12 . 2.You Go To My Head (John Frederick Coots, Haven Gillespie) – 03:36 . 3.Fall (Wayne Shorter) – 04:02 . 4.East Coast Love Affair (Kurt Rosenwinkel) – 09:53 . 5.Ask Me Now (Thelonious Monk) – 05:22 . 6.Ana Maria (Wayne Shorter) – 06:27 . 7.More Than You Know (Vincent Youmans, Billy Rose, Edward Eliscu) – 08:58 . 8.You’Ve Changed (Bill Carey, Carl Fischer) – 03:15

Musicians : Kurt Rosenwinkel – Guitar . Eric Revis – Bass . Eric Harland – Drums

Production : Produced By Kurt Rosenwinkel Ben Liscio – Assistant Engineer . Michael Perez-Cisneros – Mastering . Andy Taub – Engineer

Package : Lourdes Delgado – Photography . Ethan Iverson – Liner Notes . Riccardo Vecchio – Art Direction

Recorded On June 18-20, 2009 At Brooklyn Recording, Brooklyn, New York.

Released In November, 2009 By Wommusic.

(Source Kurt Rosenwinkel – Reflections | Official Site)


The album’s languid, nocturnal vibe might wear thin after 50 minutes, but any individual track is brilliant beyond measure. Fans of music—not just jazz or guitar—owe it to themselves to buy this, for this is the sound of genius at work. […]

Ottawa Citizen
I keep mentioning the words “harmony,” “hamonic” and “harmonies,” and indeed, I have to think that Rosenwinkel, by his choices for the disc, is especially proud of his sophisticated and even unique chordal work, which uplifts every track without ever being self-consciously show-stopping. […]

All About Jazz
Reflections could have been a high octane smoker; instead, Rosenwinkel, Revis, and Harland have created one of the year’s most sublime standards albums. Tightly aligned to the essence of the material and the tradition from whence it comes, Reflections remains an album that couldn’t have been made at any time but the 21st century. […]


Kurt Rosenwinkel‘s ‘Reflections’ | RVM [Radio.Video.Music]M


Comments are closed.