Meshell Ndegeocello releases her eleventh album ‘Comet, Come to Me’ (2014)

Meshell Ndegeocello’s ‘Comet, Come to Me’ is her eleventh studio album released on June 2, 2014 by Naïve


Meshell Ndegeocello releases her eleventh album ‘Comet, Come to Me’ (2014)

1 . Friends

2 . Tom (Official Video)

3 . Comet, Come to Me : A Journey into Meshell’s Work (Mini-documentary)

4 . Continuous Performance

5 . Shopping For Jazz (Official Video)

6 . Conviction (Live on KCRW)

7 . Folie A Deux (Live on KCRW)

8 . Folie A Deux (Official Video)

9 . Choices (Official Video)

Track Listing : 1.Friends (Whodini) – 04:56 . 2.Tom (Doyle Bramhall, Chris Bruce, Tom Mediodia, Meshell Ndegeocello) – 02:54 . 3.Good Day Bad (Chris Bruce, Meshell Ndegeocello) – 04:18 . 4.Forget My Name (Chris Bruce, Jebin Bruni, Elizabeth Lea, Meshell Ndegeocello) – 04:22 . 5.And Yet It Moves (Jebin Bruni) – 00:29 . 6.Comet, Come To Me (Chris Bruce, Meshell Ndegeocello, Gabe Noel, Shara Worden) – 04:39 . 7.Continuous Performance (Peter Davis, Kenneth Fearing, Meshell Ndegeocello) – 03:22 . 8.Shopping For Jazz (Chris Bruce, Jebin Bruni, Chris Connelly, Earl Harvin, Meshell Ndegeocello) – 02:47 . 9.Conviction (Chris Bruce, Meshell Ndegeocello, Kaveh Rastegar) – 03:41 . 10.Folie A Deux (Sami Amatus, Meshell Ndegeocello) – 03:37 . 11.Choices (Eric Elterman, Otto Hauser, Meshell Ndegeocello) – 03:58 . 12.Modern Time (Chris Bruce, Jebin Bruni, Stacy-Ann Chin, Meshell Ndegeocello) – 04:27 . 13.American Rhapsody (Peter Davis, Kenneth Fearing, Meshell Ndegeocello) – 02:49

Musicians : Meshell Ndegeocello – Vocals . Kaveh Rastegar – Bass . Chris Bruce – Bass, Guitar . Gabe Noel – Cello . Doyle Bramhall – Guitar, Vocals . Jebin Bruni – Keyboards, Programming . Sylvester Earl Harvin – Drums, Percussion . Jonathan Wilson – Guitar . Amp Fiddler – Synthesizer Bass

Production : Produced By Smoke & Mirrors . Pete Min – Engineer, Mastering, Mixing

Package : Paul Hamann – Art Direction . Mel Barat – Design . Jason Rodgers – Photography

Recorded .

Released On June 2, 2014 By Naïve.


London Jazz News
I found some tracks got stuck in laborious R’n’B grooves, and also that some of the slow, ethereal soundscapes outstayed their welcome. Nevertheless, there’s plenty here to lift the spirit, in particular tracks like opener Friends, a jazz/hip-hop crossover track which is her soulful take on Whodini’s eighties original, with guitar taking over the insistent electronic riff of the original hit that kicks off the album with a repetitive lyrical groove around the idea of friendship. […]

However, as disappointing as this may be to some, Meshell’s devotion to her craft is the glimmer of hope that she’s not headed down a stagnant musical path, and even on her worst day, she’s still mesmerizing to watch. […]

Los Angeles Times
Meshell Ndegeocello’s ‘Comet’ soars Woozy reggae, slow-burn R&B, a spacey cover of Whodini’s early-’80s rap classic “Friends”: This is just some of the ground Meshell Ndegeocello covers on her adventurous new album. […]


Meshell Ndegeocello’s ‘Comet, Come to Me’ | RVM [Radio.Video.Music]


Comments are closed.