Miles Davis records ‘Blue Moods’ with Charles Mingus and Elvin Jones (1955)

Miles Davis‘ ‘Blue Moods’ is an album recorded on July 9, 1955, together with Charles Mingus and Elvin Jones and released the same year by Debut.

Track Listing : 1.Nature Boy (Eden Ahbez) – 06:14 . 2.Alone Together (Howard Dietz, Arthur Schwartz) – 07:17 . 3.There’S No You (Hal Hopper, Tom Adair) – 08:06 . 4.Easy Living (Ralph Rainger, Leo Robin) – 05:03

Musicians : Miles Davis – Trumpet . Britt Woodman – Trombone . Charles Mingus – Double Bass . Teddy Charles – Vibes . Elvin Jones – Drums

Production : Produced By Miles Davis, Charles Mingus . Rudy Van Gelder – Engineer

Recorded On July 9, 1955 At Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey.

Released In 1955 By Debut.

(Source Miles Davis‘ ‘Blue Moods’ | Blue Moods | Miles Davis – Official Site)


The vinyl however is most certainly genuine red vinyl, no mistaking that. Not sure when this vintage red vinyl was pressed, possibly late Fifties, early Sixties? […]

Mark’s Record Reviews
It’s not often you run across a perfectly average (rather than completely putrid) Miles Davis album, so I think it might be worthwhile to address those aspects that render Blue Moods so impressively mediocre (rather than vomit-inducingly stench-riddled). […]
Although this album was hardly groundbreaking or original in any way, the performances and arrangements make for a worthy addition to any jazz fan’s collection. The interplay of Miles Davis and Teddy Charles alone is reason enough to check this out […]


Miles Davis‘ ‘Blue Moods’


Your Favourite Miles Davis on RVM *

(*) According to our own statistics, upadted on January 17, 2022

Comments are closed.