Sonny Rollins records with Oscar Pettiford and Max Roach ‘Freedom Suite’ for Riverside (1958)

Sonny Rollins ‘Freedom Suite’ is an album recorded on February 11 & March 7, 1958 with Oscar Pettiford and Max Roach and released the same year by Riverside.

Track Listing : 1.The Freedom Suite (Sonny Rollins) – 19:17 . 2.Someday I’Ll Find You (Noël Coward) – 04:35 . 3.Will You Still Be Mine? (Tom Adair, Matt Dennis) – 02:54 . 4.Till There Was You (Meredith Willson) – 04:54 . 5.Shadow Waltz (Al Dubin, Harry Warren) – 04:08

Musicians : Sonny Rollins – Tenor Saxophone . Oscar Pettiford – Bass . Max Roach – Drums

Production : Produced By Orrin Keepnews Sam Morse – Engineer . Tom Size – Mastering

Package : Paul Bacon – Design . Orrin Keepnews – Liner Notes . Paul Weller – Photography

Recorded On February 11 & March 7, 1958 At A Studio In New York City.

Released In 1958 By Riverside.


100 Greatest Jazz Albums
Max Roach in particular is ideal in this respect, having worked with Sonny Rollins for some years before this recording and showing great understanding of what the possibilities are. […]

Well, you won’t be bored because what Sonny Rollins has done here is stated a very simple melody at the outset, then all the way through it, he will turn it inside out, upside downand backwards so it sounds like a different melody. […]

All About Jazz
There’s also an essay by producer Orrin Keepnews that details the vibe of the session— apparently Rollins was very, very nervous throughout which is barely detectable from the results. Though these features aren’t enough to warrant an upgrade, Freedom Suite is a recording no jazz fan’s home should be without. […]


Sonny Rollins ‘Freedom Suite’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]


Comments are closed.