Sonny Rollins records the album ‘Sonny Rollins on Impulse!’ (1965)

‘Sonny Rollins on Impulse!’ is his first album recorded on July 8, 1965 to be released the same year on the Impulse! label.

Track Listing : 1.On Green Dolphin Street (Bronislaw Kaper, Ned Washington) – 07:10 . 2.Everything Happens To Me (Tom Adair, Matt Dennis) – 11:14 . 3.Hold ‘Em Joe (Harry Thomas) – 05:30 . 4.The Blue Room (Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers) – 03:44 . 5.Three Little Words (Bert Kalmar, Harry Ruby) – 06:56

Chuck Stewart

Musicians : Sonny Rollins – Tenor Saxophone . Ray Bryant – Piano . Walter Booker – Bass . Mickey Roker – Drums

Production : Produced By Bob Thiele . Rudy Van Gelder – Engineer

Package : Jeff Adamoff – Art Direction . Nat Hentoff – Liner Notes . Chuck Stewart asterisques RVM – Photography . Bob Thiele – Photography

Recorded On July 8, 1965 At Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, Nj.

Released In 1965 By Impulse!.


As strange and beautiful as this record sounds, it would have been wonderful if he had chosen to explore this track on his later records, but that restless spirit was already moving onto something else, as evidenced by his next offering, which were his original compositions for the film Alfie with arrangements by Oliver Nelson. […]

In fact, during On Impulse, a (1965) quartet album, Rollins best moments occur when he opens up and tears into “Three Little Words.” Here his work has tremendous buoyancy and great continuity. […]

All About Jazz
Rollins’ horn is big, centered in the middle of the stageand almost etched forward in the mix. The flanking piano and drums sound natural and spacious. […]


‘Sonny Rollins on Impulse!’



Sonny Rollins  - Still RockinRollins
Sonny Rollins - Tenor Madness
Sonny Rollins, Vol. 2
Sonny Rollins - Plus Four
Sonny Rollins - Way Out West
Sonny Rollins  - Alfie
<a href=Dizzy Gillespie, Sonny Rollins, Sonny Stitt – Sonny Side Up’ width=’190′ height=’161’/>
Sonny Rollins - No Problem
Sonny Rollins - G-Man
Sonny Rollins  - Easy Living
Sonny Rollins - Our Man in Jazz
Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus
Sonny Rollins - There Will Never Be Another You
Sonny Rollins and the Big Brass
Sonny Rollins - The Solo Album
Sonny Rollins with the Modern Jazz Quartet
Sonny Rollins - A Night at the Village Vanguard
Thelonious Monk & Sonny Rollins’ width=’190′ height=’161’/>
Sonny Rollins - Tour de Force
Sonny Rollins - The Bridge
Sonny Rollins - Freedom Suite
Sonny Rollins - The Sound of Sonny

Comments are closed.