Sonny Rollins records ‘There Will Never Be Another You’ at Museum of Modern Art, New York (1965)

Sonny Rollins’ ‘There Will Never Be Another You’ is a live album recorded on June 17, 1965 at Museum of Modern Art, New York and released in 1978 By Impulse!.

Track Listing : 1.On Green Dolphin Street (Bronislaw Kaper, Ned Washington) – 07:22 . 2.Three Little Words (Bert Kalmar, Harry Ruby) – 9:13 . 3.Mademoiselle De Paris (Henri Contet, Paul Durand, Eric Maschwitz, Mitchell Parish) – 01:47 . 4.To A Wild Rose (Edward Macdowell) – 05:54 . 5.There Will Never Be Another You (Mack Gordon, Harry Warren) – 16:40

Musicians : Sonny Rollins – Tenor Saxophone . Tommy Flanagan – Piano . Bob Cranshaw – Bass . Mickey Roker – Drums . Billy Higgins – Drums

Production : Produced By Teo Macero . Rudy Van Gelder – Engineer

Package : Nat Hentoff – Liner Notes

Recorded On June 17, 1965 At Museum Of Modern Art, New York City.

Released In 1978 By Impulse!.

Sonny Rollins


All About Jazz
Sonically, however, the real treat is There Will Never Be Another You. Recorded live in New York City’s Museum of Modern Art in 1965, but mysteriously not released until 1978, the record is a treasure. […]

Burning Ambulance
… there are two drummers—Billy Higgins and Mickey Roker. You might think this overdose of rhythm would cause the band to convulse wildly, but it doesn’t, really. […]

Robert Christgau
But this much knottier 1965 session is the Rollins I keep going back to. The man is expansive here, too–casually interpolating rapt modal runs into his thoughtful thematic improvisations on the 16-minute title tour de force […]


Sonny Rollins’ ‘There Will Never Be Another You’


Comments are closed.