Sonny Rollins records ‘Way Out West’ with Ray Brown & Shelly Manne (1957)

Sonny Rollins’ ‘Way Out West’ is an album recorded on March 7, 1957 with Ray Brown and Shelly Manne and released the same year by Contemporary.

Track Listing : 1.I’M An Old Cowhand (From The Rio Grande) (Johnny Mercer) – 05:42 . 2.Solitude (Duke Ellington) – 07:52 . 3.Come, Gone (Sonny Rollins) – 07:53 . 4.Wagon Wheels (Peter Derose) – 10:11 . 5.There Is No Greater Love (Isham Jones) – 05:17 . 6.Way Out West (Sonny Rollins) – 06:30

William Claxton

Musicians : Sonny Rollins – Tenor Saxophone . Ray Brown – Bass . Shelly Manne – Drums

Production : Produced By Lester Koenig . Roy Dunann – Engineer . Doug Sax – Mastering . Alan Yoshida – Mastering

Package : William Claxton asterisques RVM – Cover Photo . Lester Koenig – Liner Notes, Photography,

Recorded On March 7, 1957 At Contemporary Records Studio (Los Angeles).

Released In 1957 By Contemporary.

Sonny Rollins


All About Jazz
Where he might have never have licked every scalar corner in existence as Coltrane did, he does always perform at the highest level. Way Out West remains a standard for this higher level. […]

The Guardian
The cover shot and some of the titles suggest a send-up, but Rollins has always loved conjuring rich narratives from cheesy materialand after the intro to Cowhand he’s off on one of his odysseys of seamless runs and biting accents over Brown’s driving pulse. […]

timregler @ RateYourMusic
For me, the farther away the musi strays from it’s theme of the old West, the better the results. I’m an Old Cowhand”, while featuring a couple of nice solos, ultimately comes across as more novelty than solid Jazz. […]


Sonny Rollins’ ‘Way Out West’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]


Comments are closed.