Stanley Turrentine records ‘Easy Walker’ for Blue Note (1966)

Stanley Turrentine’s ‘Easy Walker’ is an album recorded on July 8, 1966 with McCoy Tyner, Bob Cranshaw and Mickey Roker and released the same year by Blue Note.

Track Listing : 1.Meat Wave (Hank Johnson) – 04:45 . 2.They All Say I’M The Biggest Fool (Buddy Johnson) – 07:43 . 3.Yours Is My Heart Alone (Franz Lehár) – 05:07 . 4.Easy Walker (Billy Taylor) – 06:14 . 5.What The World Needs Now (Burt Bacharach, Hal David) – 06:43 . 6.Alone Together (Howard Dietz, Arthur Schwartz) – 05:42

Francis Wolff

Musicians : Stanley Turrentine – Tenor Saxophone . Mccoy Tyner – Piano, Electric Piano . Bob Cranshaw – Bass . Mickey Roker – Drums

Reid Miles

Production : Produced By Alfred Lion . Rudy Van Gelder – Engineer

Package : Nat Hentoff – Liner Notes . Francis Wolff asterisques RVM – Photography . Reid Miles asterisques RVM – Cover Design, Photography

Recorded On July 8, 1966 At Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs.

Released In 1966 By Blue Note.


All About Jazz
Better yet, both Tyner and Turrnetine attack the songs with their respective signatures and illustrate some of their finest playing of the period. Good stuff. […]

Turrentine turns in a number of rich, roundand full-bodied leads which are perfectly complemented by Tyner’s strutting, sympathetic piano. […]

minimoniotaku @ RateYourMusic
Such a great album. It’s a shame that Capitol hasn’t seen fit to remaster and reissue it on CD yet. In the meantime, it’s worth a decent dogfight on eBay for vinyl copies. […]


Stanley Turrentine’s ‘Easy Walker’


Comments are closed.