Browsing Tag

Ravi Coltrane

Blue Note publish Cassandra Wilson’s album : ‘Silver Pony’…

Cassandra Wilson’s ‘Silver Pony’ is an album mixing live and studio performances and released on November 9, 2010 by Blue Note. Track Listing : 1.Lover Come Back To Me (Oscar Hammerstein Ii, Sigmund Romberg) – 06:51 . 2.Went Down To St James Infirmary (Irving Mills/) – 07:14 . 3.A Night In Seville (Cassandra Wilson) – […]

It’s ‘Tenor Madness’ Night at The Apollo (2015)

October 22, 2015 – Ravi Coltrane, James Carter, Billy Harper, George Cables, Buster Williams and Jack DeJohnette and many more, they all play at “Jazz Federation of America’s lifetime achievement award in honor of Sonny Rollins” held at The Apollo Theater,in New-York City

Playing Coltrane

‘Naima’,’Giant Steps’, ‘Mr.PC’ etc. John Coltrane whose birthday is today, has left next to fifty compositions. Some of them have been extensively covered by famous and not so famous jazz artists. Dave Liebman, Wayne Shorter, Jack DeJohnette, Michael Brecker, Joshua Redman, McCoy Tyner, Ravi Coltrane, Christian McBride, Roy Haynes, Bobby Hutcherson, Marcus Miller, Wynton Marsalis, […]

This week In Jazz Legends 16

Duke Ellington, Charles Lloyd, Cannonball Adderley, Bill Evans, Robert Glasper, McCoy Tyner, Michael Brecker, Ravi Coltrane, Christian McBride, Roy Haynes, Thelonious Monk, The Bad Plus, Monty Alexander, Dave Holland, Fourplay, Herbie Hancock. They are the “Jazz Legends” performers selected among the 227 Posts we publish this week. Here, they are reunited in one glorious playlist. […]

Concord release Chick Corea’s ‘The Vigil’ (2013)

Chick Corea’s ‘The Vigil’ is an album reinventing some of his old compositions with a band of young musicians, released on August 6, 2013 by Concord. Track Listing : 1.Galaxy 32 Star 4 (Chick Corea) – 11:07 . 2.Planet Chia (Chick Corea) – 11:07 . 3.Portals To Forever (Chick Corea) – 16:03 . 4.Royalty (Chick […]

Terence Blanchard releases his nineteenth album : ‘Magnetic’ (2013)

“Magnetic” by Terence Blanchard is the nineteenth album, released on May 27, 2013. Track Listing : 1.Magnetic (Terence Blanchard) – 07:02 . 2.Jacob’S Ladder (Joshua Crumbly) – 07:59 . 3.Don’T Run (Terence Blanchard) – 07:29 . 4.Pet Step Sitter’S Theme Song (Fabian Almazan) – 10:31 . 5.Hallucinations (Terence Blanchard) – 08:42 . 6.No Borders Just […]