Lester Young records ‘Pres and Teddy’ with the Teddy Wilson Quartet for Verve (1956)

Lester Young’s ‘Pres and Teddy’ is an album recorded on January 13, 1956 with the Teddy Wilson Quartet and released In April 1959 by Verve.

Track Listing : 1.All Of Me (Gerald Marks, Seymour Simons) – 05:10 . 2.Prisoner Of Love (Russ Columbo, Clarence Gaskill, Leo Robin) – 07:40 . 3.Louise (Leo Robin, Richard Whiting) – 05:18 . 4.Love Me Or Leave Me (Walter Donaldson, Gus Kahn) – 06:50 . 5.Taking A Chance On Love (Vernon Duke, Ted Fetter, John Latouche) – 05:10 . 6.Love Is Here To Stay (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 06:31

Herman Leonard

Musicians : Teddy Wilson – Piano . Lester Young – Tenor Saxophone . Gene Ramey – Bass . Jo Jones – Drums

Production : Produced By Norman Granz

Package : Herman Leonard asterisques RVM – Photography . Bill Simon – Liner Notes

Recorded On January 13, 1956.

Released In April 1959 By Verve.


His rendition of “Prisoner of Love” is quite haunting, the version of “All of Me” is also memorable, and all of the swing standards (which are joined by his original “Pres Returns”) are well worth hearing. […]

Pres And Teddy-The Lester Young And Teddy Wilson Quartet is an essential classic recording of American art at its best. This is music that sums up an entire genre and takes the listener through the history of jazz with soul, love, and dedication. […]

yofriend @ RateYourMusic
Anyway, on this album, those two giants of Swing music are the center of attraction. And they are both in excellent mood. The album is a Jazz classic. […]


Lester Young’s ‘Pres and Teddy’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]M


Comments are closed.