Wynton Marsalis begins the recording of ‘J Mood’ for Columbia (1985)

Wynton Marsalis’ ‘J Mood’ is an album recorded between December 17 and 20, 1985 and released in 1986 by Columbia Records.

Track Listing : 1.J Mood (Wynton Marsalis) – 08:35 . 2.Presence That Lament Brings (Wynton Marsalis, Marcus Roberts) – 05:53 . 3.Insane Asylum (Donald Brown, Wynton Marsalis) – 06:34 . 4.Skain’S Domain (Wynton Marsalis) – 06:30 . 5.Melodique (Wynton Marsalis) – 04:32 . 6.After (Ellis Marsalis, Wynton Marsalis) – 06:10 . 7.Much Later (Wynton Marsalis) – 04:36

Romare Bearden

Musicians : Marcus Roberts – Piano . Bob Hurst – Bass . Jeff “Tain” Watts – Drums

Production : Produced By Steven Epstein – Producer . Dennis Ferrante – Assistant Engineer . Tim Geelan – Engineer, Remixing

Recorded On December 17–20, 1985.

Released In 1986 By Columbia Records.

Package : Romare Bearden asterisques RVM – Artwork . Mark Larson – Design . Robb Johnson – Photography

Wynton Marsalis


By the age of 24—when he recorded J Mood—the young trumpeter was pushing beyond the conventional boundaries of hard-bop phraseology, slicing and dicing the beat in ways few of his predecessors had attempted. […]

Robert Christgau
And on the other hand, those of us who can’t stand his expensive tailoring and neoconservative pronunciamentos are tempted to dismiss the pleasures they insure. Listen hard enough and pleasures reveal themselves in profusion […]

As heard on this solid recording from top to bottom, with a stance that expresses no middle range (it’s either all or nothing), this group, with no other front-line horn and no brother Branford Marsalis, may have offered the then-young trumpeter one of the more bold challenges developing his individual voice. […]


Wynton Marsalis’ ‘J Mood’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]


Comments are closed.