FRE:SH STRAIGHT UP JAZZ 01 (646 minutes – 10 Albums)

Almost eleven hours of newly released straight up jazz albums. One full day of music. : Birgit Lindberg . Roxy Coss . Greg Abate & Phil Woods . Jerry Weldon . Dick Oatts/Mats Holmquist New York Jazz Orchestra . Mack Avenue SuperBand . Yair Loewenson Trio . Jae Sinnett . Dmitry Baevsky . John Fremgen .

Birgit Lindberg – Damn That Cat

Swedish jazz, pianist Birgit Lindberg is back after a 40 year hiatus. With Anders Färdal (guitar), Martin Sjöstedt (bass), Daniel Fredriksson (trummor) and Fredrik Lindborg (tenor sax on 4 tracks)

Roxy Coss – Restless Idealism

With Pelt on trumpet, long-time band members guitarist Alex Wintz and pianist Chris Pattishall, and the dynamic duo of bassist Dezron Douglas and drummer Willie Jones III, Roxy’s created a thoughtful, highly emotive and undeniably fearless recording.

Greg Abate & Phil Woods – Kindred Spirits

Kindred Spirits Live, Greg Abate’s new recording, captures one of the final live performances of legendary sax player Phil Woods.

Jerry Weldon – On the Move!

Tune selection for this recording was done by Jerry himself, from the Illinois Jacquet classic, ‘Black Velvet’, to the Meredith Willson classic, ‘Till There Was You’, made popular by Paul McCartney and the The Beatles.

Dick Oatts/Mats Holmquist New York Jazz Orchestra – A Tribute To Herbie +1

One of the most distinguished saxophonists in the world of big band, Dick Oatts, teams with mastermind co-leader Mats Holmquist and his stunning arrangements of some of Herbie’s most intriguing and subsequently most famous tunes from the ’60s and ’70s

Mack Avenue SuperBand – Live from the Detroit Jazz Festival 2015

Under the leadership of Christian McBride, the SuperBand gathers Christian Sands (p), Freddie Hendrix (tp), Carl Allen (d), Tia Fuller (s), Kirk Whalum (s) and Gary Burton (vb).

Yair Loewenson Trio – Old Bottles New Wine

Yair Loewenson (guitar), Gal Shaya (bass) and Noam Israeli (drums) with Mark Turner (Tenor Sax on seven tracks)

Jae Sinnett – Zero to 60

Zero to 60 is Jae’s 14th recording as a leader and marks his return to straight up jazz featured in the classic jazz quartet setting – tenor saxophone, acoustic piano, acoustic bass and drums.

Dmitry Baevsky – Somethin’Special

On Blau Records, Dmitry Baevsky (saxophone), Fabio Miano (piano), Ignasi Gonzalez (bass) and Joe Strasser (drums)

John Fremgen – Everything That Spring Can Bring

On Longhorn Music, John Fremgen double bass

Credit : Full jazz – Art DiNo

Comments are closed.