Harvey Mason – Chameleon

Released on April 29, 2014, “Chameleon” is the debut album from legendary session drummer Harvey Mason

Track Listing : 1.Black Frost (Bob James, Grover Washington, Jr.) – 06:08 . 2.Montara (Bobby Hutcherson) – 05:31 . 3.If I Ever Lose This Heaven (Pam Sawyer, Leon Ware) – 05:58 . 4.Looking Back (Mark De Clive-Lowe, Paul Jackson, Harvey Mason, Sr.) – 01:35 . 5.Before The Dawn (Patrice Rushen) – 06:49 . 6.Studio Life (Hold It One Second) (Harvey Mason, Sr.) – 01:06 . 7.Places And Spaces (Fonce Mizell, Larry Mizell) – 07:03 . 8.Either Way (Harvey Mason, Sr.) – 05:19 . 9.Mase’S Theme (Mark De Clive-Lowe, Harvey Mason, Sr.) – 01:44 . 10.Chameleon (Herbie Hancock, Paul Jackson, Bennie Maupin, Harvey Mason, Sr.) – 06:59

Musicians : Harvey Mason, Sr. – Drums . Corey King – Trombone, Vocals On (7) . Christian Scott – Trumpet On (7) . Chris Turner – Vocals On (3) . Kamasi Washington – Saxophone On (1) . Ben Williams – Bass . Kris Bowers – Piano . Matthew Stevens – Guitar . Mark De Clive-Lowe – Keyboard

Production : Produced By Chris Dunn, Harvey Mason

Recorded .

Released On April 29, 2014 By Concord.

(Source Chameleon | Harvey Mason Official Site )



Fans concerned about Chameleon sounding retro will take comfort in knowing that Mason has delivered an album that interjects fresh new elements on each subsequent listen.

Soul Tracks
Of course, Gen Xers and Millennials are hip-hop kids who never let a dope beat or hot track slip by. Mason played on and created more than his share,

And while Mason’s organic, chilled-out take on the title track (replete with Summers’ atmospheric vocals and Hinda Hu whistle) is a highlight, it’s merely the tip of this funk-berg. Similarly engaging are such cuts as the synth-driven, ’80s video game funk of “Mase’s Theme” and the …




Comments are closed.