N.W.A. release their debut album : ‘Straight Outta Compton’ (1988)

N.W.A’s ‘Straight Outta Compton’ is their debut studio album produced by Dr. Dre with DJ Yella and released August 8, 1988 by Ruthless Records.


N.W.A. release their debut album : ‘Straight Outta Compton’ (1988)

Track Listing : 1.Straight Outta Compton (Ice Cube, Mc Ren, The D.O.C., Eazy-E) – 04:18 . {Samples : “Funky Drummer” By James Brown; “You’Ll Like It Too” By Funkadelic; “West Coast Poplock” By Ronnie Hudson And The Street People; “Get Me Back On Time, Engine No. 9” By Wilson Pickett; “Amen, Brother” By The Winstons; “One For The Treble” By Davy Dmx] . 2.Fuck Tha Police (Ice Cube, Mc Ren, Eazy-E) – 05:45 . {Samples : “Funky President (People It’S Bad)” By James Brown; “It’S My Thing” By Marva Whitney; “Boogie Back” By Roy Ayers; “Feel Good” By Fancy; “Funky Drummer” By James Brown; “Ruthless Villain” By Eazy-E; “Be Thankful For What You Got” By William Devaughn] . 3.Gangsta Gangsta (Ice Cube, Mc Ren, Eazy-E) – 05:36 . {Samples : “Weak At The Knees” By Steve Arrington; “Troglodyte” By Jimmy Castor Bunch; “Be Thankful For What You Got” By William Devaughn; “Impeach The President” By The Honey Drippers; “N.T.” By Kool & The Gang; “Funky Worm” By Ohio Players; “Prison” By Richard Pryor; “My Philosophy” By Boogie Down Productions (Krs-One); “La Di Da Di” By Doug E. Fresh And Slick Rick; “Girls” By Beastie Boys; “Ruthless Villain” By Eazy-E, “Take The Money And Run” By Steve Miller Band] . 4.If It Ain’T Ruff (Mc Ren) – 03:34 . {Samples : “A Star In The Ghetto” By Average White Band; “Quiet On Tha Set” And “Straight Outta Compton” By N.W.A; “Ruthless Villain” By Eazy-E; “Don’T Believe The Hype” By Public Enemy] . 5.Parental Discretion Iz Advised (The D.O.C., Dr. Dre, Eazy-E, Mc Ren) – 05:15 . {Samples : “I Turned You On” By The Isley Brothers And Dave “Baby” Cortez] . 6.8 Ball (Ice Cube, Eazy-E) – 04:52 . {Samples : “It’S My Beat” By Sweet Tea; “Be Thankful For What You Got” By William Devaughn; “Yes, We Can Can” By The Pointer Sisters; “(You Gotta) Fight For Your Right (To Party!)”, “The New Style”, “Girls”, “Paul Revere”, And “Hold It Now, Hit It” By Beastie Boys; “Terminator X Speaks With His Hands” And “Too Much Posse” By Public Enemy; “Hollywood Swinging” By Kool & The Gang; “Let’S Get It On” By Marvin Gaye; “Go See The Doctor” By Kool Moe Dee; “Boyz-N-The-Hood” By Eazy-E; “My Melody” By Eric B. & Rakim] . 7.Something Like That (Mc Ren, Dr. Dre) – 03:35 . {Samples : “Down On The Avenue” By Fat Larry’S Band; “Take The Money And Run” By Steve Miller Band; “I Think I’Ll Do It” By Z. Z. Hill] . 8.Express Yourself (Ice Cube) – 04:25 . {Samples : “Express Yourself” By Charles Wright & The Watts 103Rd Street Rhythm Band; “Dopeman” By N.W.A] . 9.Compton’S N The House (Mc Ren, Dr. Dre) – 05:20 . {Samples : “Something Like That” By N.W.A] . 10.I Ain’T Tha One (Ice Cube) – 04:54 . {Samples : “The Message (Inspiration)” By Brass Construction] . 11.Dopeman (Ice Cube, Eazy-E) – 05:20 . {Samples : “Dance To The Drummer’S Beat” By Herman Kelly And Life; “Funky Worm” By Ohio Players; “My Posse” By C.I.A.] . 12.Quiet On Tha Set (Mc Ren) – 03:59 . {Samples : “Down To The Grissle” By Cool C; “Funky Drummer” By James Brown; “I Get Lifted” By George Mccrae; “Rock Creek Park” By The Blackbyrds; “Take The Money And Run” By Steve Miller Band; “Straight Outta Compton” By N.W.A; “On The Bugged Tip” By Big Daddy Kane; “Rebel Without A Pause” By Public Enemy] . 13.Something 2 Dance 2 (Arabian Prince) – 03:23 . {Samples : “You’Re The One For Me” By D-Train; “Dance To The Music” By Sly And The Family Stone]

Musicians : Ice Cube – Rap On (1 – 2 – 3 – 5 – 10 – 11) . Mc Ren – Rap On (1 – 2 – 3 – 4 – 5 – 7 – 9 – 12) . Eazy-E – Rap On (1 – 2 – 3 – 5 – 6 – 11 – 13) . Dr. Dre – Rap On (2 – 5 – 7 – 8 – 9 -13) . The D.O.C. – Rap On (2 – 5) . Arabian Prince – Rap On (13)

Production : Produced By Dr. Dre, Dj Yella, Arabian Prince . Donovan Sound – Engineer . Brian Gardner – Mastering

Package : Helane Freeman – Artwork . Eric Poppleton – Photography

Recorded 1987–88.

Released On August 8, 1988 By Ruthless Priority.


N.W.A’s ‘Straight Outta Compton’


Comments are closed.