Tamla release Smokey Robinson’s ‘A Quiet Storm’ (1975)

Smokey Robinson’s ‘A Quiet Storm’ is an album rReleased on March 26, 1975 by Tamla.

Track Listing : 1.Quiet Storm (Smokey Robinson) – 07:47 . 2.The Agony And The Ecstasy (Smokey Robinson) – 04:43 . 3.Baby That’S Backatcha (Smokey Robinson) – 03:36 . 4.Wedding Song (Smokey Robinson) – 03:20 . 5.Happy – Love Theme From Lady Sings The Blues (Smokey Robinson, Michel Legrand)- 07:05 . 6.Love Letters (Smokey Robinson) – 04:04 . 7.Coincidentally (Smokey Robinson) – 04:22

Musicians : Smokey Robinson – Vocals . Joseph A. Brown – Drums, Percussion . Gary Coleman – Percussion . Shawn Furlong – Sound Effects, Sopranino . Michael Jacobsen – Cello . Gene Pello – Drums . James Alibe Sledge – Bongos, Conga, Background Vocals . Fred Smith – Horn, Woodwind . Russ Turner – Keyboards, Background Vocals . Marv Tarplin – Guitar . Melba Bradford – Background Vocals . Carmen Bryant – Background Vocals

Production : Produced By Smokey Robinson . Smokey Robinson, Russ Turner . Greg Venable – Engineer, Mixing

Arrangements : Smokey Robinson, Russ Turner

Recorded In 1974.

Released On March 26, 1975 By Tamla.


Rolling Stone
In fact, Robinson’s much touted abilities as a poetic lyricist aren’t very important here, the sexy directness of “Storm” and “Backatcha” notwithstanding. His production and singing carry the album. […]

The album opens like radio theater: an impossibly high-pitched synth-produced whistle– our soft warning siren– is paired with wind sound effects, which gradually give way to a loping bassline that could have been drawn from countless 60s Motown hits. […]

Wilson & Alroy’s Record Reviews
Some of it is so lush and down-tempo that it threatens to be boring – “Happy (Love Theme From ‘Lady Sings The Blues’)” takes so long to build that you might pass out before the ecstatic finale. […]


Smokey Robinson’s ‘A Quiet Storm’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]M


Comments are closed.