The Who release the rock-opera ‘Tommy’ as a double-album (1969)

The Who’s ‘Tommy’ is their fourth studio (and rock-opera) album released as a double album on May 23, 1969 by Decca / MCA.

Track Listing : 1.Look What You’Ve Done (Leo Nocentelli) . 2.Shocked (Ira Ingber, Greg Sutton) . 3.Sweet Little Woman (Andy Fraser) . 4.Seven Days (Bob Dylan) . 5.Marie (Randy Newman) . 6.Ruby Lee (Bill Withers, Melvin Dunlap) . 7.Many Rivers To Cross (Jimmy Cliff) . 8.So Good, So Right (Brenda Russell) . 9.Talking Back To The Night (Steve Winwood, Will Jennings) . 10.Just Like Always (Jimmy Webb)

Anton Corbijn

Musicians : Joe Cocker – Lead Vocals . Wally Badarou – Keyboards . Robert Palmer – Vocals . Jimmy Cliff – Vocals . Adrian Bellew – Guitar . Barry Reynolds – Guitar, Vocals . Mikey Chung – Guitar . Sly Dunbar – Drums . Robbie Shakespeare – Bass . Uziah Sticky Thompson – Percussion

Production : Produced By Chris Blackwell, Alex Sadkin . Benji Armbrister – Engineer . Ted Jensen – Mastering . Alex Sadkin – Engineer

Package : Anton Corbijn asterisques RVM – Photography . David Oxtoby – Artwork

Recorded 1981 – 1982 At Compass Point Studios, Nassau, Bahamas.

ReleasedOn May 22, 1982 By Island .


It has been said “Sally Simpson” was inspired by true events. While Townshend was backstage at a Door’s concert, a security guard roughly handled a girl who was attempting to touch Jim Morrison, just as Sally was attempting to touch Tommy. […]

Classic Rock Review
The impression of the film lasted into my years of teenage angst when I would rediscover the film and album by extension. This would lead me to my ultimate transcendental knowledge of The Who in all their magical glory. […]

Much of it was conceived on the hoof with the killer single ”Pinball Wizard” only added on Lambert’s insistence that they needed an obvious hit, suggesting that pinball was a hip enough subject for the kids. […]


The Who’s ‘Tommy’



The Who
The Who
The Who
Pete Townshend‘s ‘Empty Glass” width=’190’ height=’161’/>

Comments are closed.