Wayne Shorter, Lee Morgan, Bobby Timmons and more record ‘The Young Lions’ (1960)

‘The Young Lions’ is the first and last album (recorded on April 25, 1960) by a supergroup featuring Wayne Shorter, Frank Strozier, Lee Morgan, Bobby Timmons, Bob Cranshaw, Albert Heath and Louis Hayes and released in 1960 by Vee-Jay.

Track Listing : 1.Seeds Of Sin (Wayne Shorter) – 05:44 . 2.Scourn’ (Wayne Shorter) – 05:58 . 3.Fat Lady (Wayne Shorter) – 05:03 . 4.Peaches And Cream (Wayne Shorter) – 06:52 . 5.That’S Right (Lee Morgan) – 11:37

Musicians : Wayne Shorter – Tenor Sax . Frank Strozier – Alto Sax . Lee Morgan – Trumpet . Bobby Timmons – Piano . Bob Cranshaw – Bass . Albert Heath – Drums . Louis Hayes – Drums . The Young Lions – Group . Twentieth Century Fox Orchestra – Orchestra

Production : Produced By Sid Mccoy

Package : Cannonball Adderley – Liner Notes

Recorded On April 25, 1960 At Bell Sound Studios, New York City.

Released In 1960 By Vee-Jay.


There’s a true democratic, shared value and responsibility evident in every sonic phase of this recording, but it is Shorter who wrote all the material. His “Seeds of Sin” is a sweet, swinging shuffle full of original harmonic thought. “Scourin'” (sic as “Scourn'”) displays a head-nodding swing inspired by quarter-note walking bass courtesy of the unflappable Cranshawand wondrous sax-trumpet unity. […]

cultjake @ RateYourMusic
Modern jazz today is standing on the threshold of destruction by those who would do it good. The lines are drawn and clearly marked. The traditionalists are those who unofficially feel that music introduced to us by Parker, Gillespie and Monk has not been fully developed. The avant-garde are those who subscribe to the “something new” philosophy. […]


‘The Young Lions’


Your Favourite Wayne Shorter on RVM *

(*) According to our own statistics, upadted on January 29, 2022

Comments are closed.