Sonny Rollins records ‘East Broadway Run Down’ with Freddie Hubbard, Jimmy Garrison and Elvin Jones (1966)

Sonny Rollins’ ‘East Broadway Run Down’ is an album recorded on May 9, 1966 with Freddie Hubbard, Jimmy Garrison and Elvin Jones and released the same year by Impulse!.

Track Listing : 1.East Broadway Run Down (Sonny Rollins) – 20:27 . 2.Blessing In Disguise (Sonny Rollins) – 12:27 . 3.We Kiss In A Shadow (Oscar Hammerstein Ii, Richard Rodgers) – 05:40

Chuck Stewart

Musicians : Sonny Rollins – Tenor Saxophone . Freddie Hubbard – Trumpet On (1) . Jimmy Garrison – Bass . Elvin Jones – Drums

Production : Produced By Bob Thiele Rudy Van Gelder – Engineer

Package : Nat Hentoff – Liner Notes . Chuck Stewart asterisques RVM – Photography . Robert Flynn – Artwork . Joe Lebow – Liner Design . Mel Cheren – Cover Painting

Recorded On May 9, 1966.

Released In 1966 By Impulse!.

Sonny Rollins


Burning Ambulance
The three-song East Broadway Run Down was one of the first Rollins albums I ever heard, and it quickly became one of my favorite records, its marathon title track putting me in a kind of trance state as it went on…and on…and on, the saxophonist and trumpeter Freddie Hubbard working at seemingly opposite goals,… […]

The B-side is much more safe and standard, but it’s well-played and occasionally exciting as well even if it can’t measure up to the behemoth that this starts with. […]

Wondering Sound
Not a smashing success overall, but Sonny’s opening solo is a triumph of the tenuous and the headstrong in tandem and Hubbard is successfully challenged to follow suit. […]


Sonny Rollins’ ‘East Broadway Run Down’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]M


Comments are closed.