Oscar Peterson records ‘The Trio’ at the London House in Chicago (1961)

Oscar Peterson’s ‘The Trio’ is a live album recorded with Ray Brown and Ed Thigpen on July 28 and 29, 1961 at the London House jazz club in Chicago and released the same year by Verve.

Track listing : 1.I’ve Never Been in Love Before (Frank Loesser) – 05:35 . 2.In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning (Bob Hilliard, David Mann) – 08:07 . 3.Chicago (Fred Fisher) – 08:55 . 4.The Night We Called It a Day (Tom Adair, Matt Dennis) – 04:47 . 5.Sometimes I’m Happy (Irving Caesar, Clifford Grey, Vincent Youmans) – 011:41 . 6.Whisper Not (Benny Golson) – 05:46 . 7.Billy Boy (Traditional) – 01:46 . 8.The Lonesome One (Oscar Peterson) – 05:32 . 9.The Gravy Waltz (Steve Allen, Ray Brown) – 04:54 . 10.Woody ‘N’ You (Dizzy Gillespie) – 03:48 . 11.Soon (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 09:20 . 12.Daahoud (Clifford Brown) – 05:52 .

Musicians : Oscar Peterson – piano . Ray Brown – double bass . Ed Thigpen – drums .

Production Produced by Norman Granz . Val Valentin – Engineer .

Packaging : Don Gold – Liner Notes .

Recorded on July 28 and 29, 1961 at the London House jazz club in Chicago .

Released in 1961 by Verve.

Package : Jack Semmens for “Your Love Is King” . Stuart Orme for “When Am I Going to Make a Living” . Julien Temple for “Smooth Operator” . Brian Ward for “Hang On to Your Love” .


The Oscar Peterson Trio with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen lacked the competitiveness of his earlier group with Brown and guitarist Herb Ellis, […]

I love this album. My mom had this album; when I was a little thing she would put it on after I went to bed and I began to understand that she needed to listen to this music to relax and unwind, not to mention that what a good jazz afficionado my mom was. […]

Oscar Peterson’s ‘The Trio’ on RVM [Radio.Video.Music]


Comments are closed.